Family Friday

True Frog Family – Ranidae

Suborder: Neobatrachia
Number of Genera: 22
Number of Species: 389

Ranidae is the true frog family that contains many of the frogs people know, such as the Green frog, American Bullfrog, and Leopard Frogs. The family’s taxonomy is still being sorted out and changed, so exact species number and genera number changes based on sources. Many families used to be part of Ranidae including Dicroglossidae, Ceratobatrachidae, and Pyxicephalidae.

102 thoughts on “True Frog Family – Ranidae”

Leave a Reply