Family Friday

Salamanders (Caudata)


Salamanders are part of a different group of amphibians. The group they belong to is called Caudata. Not all animals in this group are called salamanders, there are also newts, sirens, olms, etc but they are sometimes just lumped into being called salamanders.

The Appalachian Mountains of the United States is the salamander capitol of the world. A third of all salamanders are found in the United States.


Caudata is broken down into 3 groups of living organisms, Cryptobranchoidea – primitive salamanders, Salamandroidea – advanced salamanders, and Sirenidae – Sirens.
There are 10 living families in Caudata and over 700 species.


Cryptobranchidae – Giant Salamanders

Chinese Giant Salamander (Andrias davidianus)
Hellbender (Cryptobranchus alleganiensis)
Japanese Giant Salamander (Andrias japonicus)

Hynobiidae – Asiatic Salamanders

Fischer’s Clawed Salamander (Onychodactylus fischeri)
Siberian Salamander (Salamandrella keyserlingii)
Anji Salamander (Hynobius amjiensis)
Abe’s Salamander (Hynobius abei)
Misty Salamander (Hynobius nebulosus)


Ambystomatidae– Mole Salamanders

Spotted Salamander (Ambystoma maculatum)
Axolotl (Ambystoma mexicanum)
Eastern Tiger Salamander (Ambystoma tigrinum)
Blue Spotted Salamander (Ambystoma laterale)
Marbled Salamander (Ambystoma opacum)
California Tiger Salamander (Ambystoma californiense)
Barred Tiger Salamander (Ambystoma mavortium)
Taylor’s Salamander (Ambystoma taylori )
Ringed Salamander (Ambystoma annulatum)
Frosted Flatwoods Salamander (Ambystoma cingulatum)
Anderson’s Salamander (Ambystoma andersoni)

Amphiumidae – Amphiumas

One Toed Amphiuma (Amphiuma pholeter)
Two Toed Amphiuma (Amphiuma means)
Three Toed Amphiuma (Amphiuma tridactylum)

Dicamptodontidae – Pacific Giant Salamander

Coastal Giant Salamander (Dicamptodon tenebrosus)
Cope’s Giant Salamander (Dicamptodon copei)
Idaho Giant Salamander (Dicamptodon aterrimus)
California Giant Salamander (Dicamptodon ensatus)

Plethodontidae – Lungless Salamanders

California Slender Salamander (Batrachoseps attenuatus)
Four toed Salamander (Hemidactylium scutatum)
Red Salamander (Pseudotriton ruber)
Korean Crevice Salamander (Karsenia koreana)
Green Salamander (Aneides aeneus)
Tennessee Cave Salamander (Gyrinophilus palleucus)
Spring Salamander (Gyrinophilus porphyriticus)
Red Backed Salamander (Plethodon cinereus)
Ensatina (Ensatina eschscholtzii)
Texas Blind Salamander (Eurycea rathbuni)
Barton Springs Salamander (Eurycea sosorum)
Mexican Climbing Salamander (Bolitoglossa mexicana)
Blackbellied Salamander (Desmognathus quadramaculatus)
Many Lined Salamander (Stereochilus marginatus)
Patch-nosed Salamander (Urspelerpes brucei)
Bell’s False Brook Salamander (Isthmura bellii)
Red Hills Salamander (Phaeognathus hubrichti)

Proteidae – Mud puppies and Olms

Olm (Proteus anguinus)
Common Mudpuppy (Necturus maculosus)
Alabama Waterdog (Necturus alabamensis)
Gulf Coast Waterdog (Necturus beyeri)
Dwarf Waterdog (Necturus punctatus)

Rhyacotritonidae – Torrent Salamanders

Cascade Torrent Salamander (Rhyacotriton cascadae)
Olympic Torrent Cascade Salamander (Rhyacotriton olympicus)
Columbia Torrent Salamander (Rhyacotriton kezeri)
Southern Torrent Salamander (Rhyacotriton variegatus)

Salamandridae – True Salamanders and Newts

Fire Salamander (Salamandra salamandra)
Corsican Fire Salamander (Salamandra corsica)
Eastern Newt (Notophthalmus viridescens)
Rough Skinned Newt (Taricha granulosa)
Red-bellied Newt (Taricha rivularis)
Laos Warty Newt (Laotriton laoensis)
Northern Spectacled Salamander (Salamandrina perspicillata)
Alpine Newt (Ichthyosaura alpestris)
Gold Striped Salamander (Chioglossa lusitanica)
Iberian Ribbed Newt (Pleurodeles waltl)
Oriental Fire-bellied Newt (Cynops orientalis)
Great Crested Newt (Triturus cristatus)
Cave Salamander (Eurycea lucifuga)


Sirenidae – Sirens

Southern Dwarf Siren (Pseudobranchus axanthus)
Greater Siren (Siren lacertina)
Lesser Siren (Siren intermedia)
Reticulated Siren (Siren reticulata)

Leave a Reply