Salamanders and Newts of Wisconsin

Ambystomatidae – Mole Salamander Family

Blue Spotted Salamander (Ambystoma laterale)

The Blue Spotted Salamander is found throughout the state besides the southwest corner. They are named after the blue spots on their body but the spots can be whitish. There are unisex female populations of the salamander in northern Wisconsin.

Spotted Salamander (Ambystoma maculatum)

The Spotted Salamander is named after the two rows of spots that run down its body. There can be two orange spots on the base of their head.

Eastern Tiger Salamander (Ambystoma tigrinum)

The Eastern Tiger Salamander is found everywhere besides the northern part of the range. They are the largest terrestrial species in the range.

Plethodontidae – Lungless Salamander Family

Four toed Salamander (Hemidactylium scutatum)

The Four Toed Salamander has a reddish brown to brown coloration. On its belly, there are big black spots on a white surface. They are also the only terrestrial salamander with 4 toes on each foot. It is a species of special concern.

Red Backed Salamander (Plethodon cinereus)

The Red-backed salamander can be identified by the stripe down its back. It can vary in color from gray, dark red, and bright red. It is found in the northern half of Wisconsin.


Eastern Newt (Notophthalmus viridescens)

The Eastern Newt has three distinct life stages. The terrestrial eft stage is bright red / orange in color and has spots on the sides. The larval and adult aquatic stages have a more neutral gray to yellow coloration. The Eastern Newt is found throughout the state.


The Mudpuppy is a fully aquatic species of salamander that keeps its gills into its adult life. They are found in large lakes and rivers.

Leave a Reply