Salamanders and Newts of Iowa

Ambystomatidae – Mole Salamander Family

Blue Spotted Salamander (Ambystoma laterale)

The Blue Spotted Salamander has noticeable blue spots but the Smallmouthed Salamander can have them too. It is listed as an endangered species in the state, only being found in two counties – Black Hawk and Linn.

Smallmouthed Salamander  (Ambystoma texanum)

The Smallmouthed Salamander is known for their tiny heads that seem too small for their body. They are found in the southern part of the state.

Eastern Tiger Salamander (Ambystoma tigrinum)

The Eastern Tiger Salamander is the largest of the terrestrial salamanders in the state. They can have yellow spots or no spots at all. There are records of them throughout the state but most recent records show them mostly in the northeast part of the state.


The Mudpuppy is a fully aquatic species of salamander. They retain their gills throughout their life. They are found in the northeast and southeast corners of the state. The Mudpuppy is listed as threatened in the state.


Eastern Newt (Notophthalmus viridescens)

The Eastern Newt has 3 distinct life stages. There is an aquatic larval stage, a terrestrial eft stage, and an aquatic adult stage. It is found in the eastern half of the state. They are listed as threatened by the state.

Leave a Reply