Heleophrynidae – Ghost Frog Family

Photo by Luke Verburgt

Suborder: Neobatrachia
Number of Genera: 2 – Hadromophryne (1) and Heleophryne (5)
Number of Species: 6

Heleophyrynidae is a small family of frogs nicked named the Ghost Frogs. The nickname comes from the fact that they are found in Skeleton Groge. They are found in the southern part of Africa.

Natal ghost frog (Hadromophryne natalensis) is the only member of it’s genus Hadromophryne. It is found in Lesotho, South Africa, and Swaziland.

2 thoughts on “Heleophrynidae – Ghost Frog Family”

Leave a Reply