Family Friday


Suborder: Neobatrachia
Sub-families: Arthroleptinae (Arthroleptis and Cardioglossa), Astylosterninae (Astylosternus, Leptodactylodon, Nyctibates, Scotobleps and Trichobatrachus), and Leptopelinae (Leptopelis)
Number of Genera: 8 – Arthroleptis, Astylosternu, Cardioglossa, Leptodactylodon, Leptopelis, Nyctibates, Scotobleps, and Trichobatrachus.
Number of Species: 152

Arthroleptidae is a diverse group of frogs from sub-Saharan Africa. The family used to be part of the “True Frog” family – Ranidae but it was moved to it’s own. It’s sister taxon is Hyperoliidae – the African Tree Frogs.

Subfamily Arthroleptinae

The genus Arthroleptis is called the screeching frogs or squeaker frogs. The genus of frogs are very small, the larger frogs are still under 2 and a half inches.

Cardioglossa is known as the long-fingered frogs. They are found in western and central Africa.

Subfamily Astylosterninae

Astylosternus is known as the night frogs.

Leptodactylodon is known as the egg frogs.

The genus Nyctibates only has one species –  the Southern Night Frog (Nyctibates corrugatus). It is found in Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, and Nigeria

Scotobleps also has only one species – the Gaboon Forest Frog  (Scotobleps gabonicus).  It is found in Nigeria, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, and Gaboon.

Trichobatrachus only has one species – the Hairy Frog (Trichobatrachus robustus). It is found in Angola, Cameroon, Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and  Nigeria

Subfamily Leptopelinae

Leptopelis is known by a few different name: forest tree frogs, leaf frogs, and big-eyed frogs. They are semiarboreal frogs with big eyes.

2 thoughts on “Arthroleptidae”

Leave a Reply