Myobatrachidae – Australian Ground Frog Family

Suborder: Neobatrachiahey
Subfamilies: Limnodynastinae and Myobatrachinae
Number of Genera: 21
Number of Species: 134

Myobatrachidae also known as the Australian Ground Frog family is found in obviously Australia and also located in Tasmania and New Guinea. The frogs are mainly terrestrial but some are aquatic. No arboreal frogs are in the family.

The Gastric Brooding Frogs belonged to this family before they went extinct. They were members of the genus Rheobatrachus. The Gastric Brooding Frogs were unique in that they swallowed their eggs and kept them in their stomach until they hatched.

12 thoughts on “Myobatrachidae – Australian Ground Frog Family”

Leave a Reply