Family Friday

Tree Frog Family – Hylidae


Red-Eyed Tree Frog (Agalychnis callidryas)

Hylidae – Tree Frog Family

Number of Species: Over 900
Genera: 49 – Cyclorana, Litoria, Nyctimystes, Pelodryas, Agalychnis, Cruziohyla, Hylomantis, Pachymedusa, Phasmahyla, Phrynomedusa, Phyllomedusa, Acris, Anotheca, Aparasphenodon, Aplastodiscus, Argenteohyla, Bokermannohyla
Bromeliohyla, Charadrahyla, Corythomantis, Dendropsophus, Duellmanohyla, Ecnomiohyla, Exerodonta, Hyla, Hyloscirtus, Hypsiboas, Isthmohyla, Itapotihyla, Lysapsus, Megastomatohyla, Myersiohyla, Nyctimantis, Osteocephalus, Osteopilus, Phyllodytes, Plectrohyla, Pseudacris, Pseudis, Ptychohyla, Scarthyla, Scinax, Smilisca, Sphaenorhynchus, Tepuihyla, Tlalocohyla, Trachycephalus, Triprion, Xenohyla

Hylidae contains the tree frogs and their allies. Most of the frogs are suited for an arboreal lifestyle and have adhesive toe discs for climbing.  It’s one of the largest frog families.





(image from

35 thoughts on “Tree Frog Family – Hylidae”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s