Family Friday


Suborder: Neobatrachia
Number of Genera: 4 – Alcalus (5), Cornufer (42), Platymantis (45), Liurana(4)
Number of Species: 96

Ceratobatrachidae is a family of frogs that used to be part of the Ranidae family but scientists moved them over to their own family. They are found in the Pacific.

Alcalus is referred to as the Alcala’s dwarf mountain frogs. They are named after Angel Alcala, a biologist.

Platymantis is known as the wrinkled ground frogs, ground frogs, or forest frogs.

2 thoughts on “Ceratobatrachidae”

Leave a Reply