Species: 4 –  Archey’s frog (Leiopelma archeyi), Hamilton’s frog (Leiopelma hamiltoni), Hochstetter’s frog, (Leiopelma hochstetteri) , and Maud Island frog (Leiopelma pakeka) 
Genera: 1 – Leiopelma

Leiopelmatidae is one of the most primitive frog families. They have an extra vertebrae making them have 9 in total, only frogs of the family Ascaphidae (Tailed Frogs) also have 9. Leiopelmatidae is endemic to New Zealand. The eggs of the frogs are direct developing so they skip the tadpole phase. The frogs do not make any mating calls nor any sounds unless they are provoked.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s