Pipidae -Tongueless Frog Family

Species: 41
Genera: 4 – Pipa (7), Xenopus (29), Hymenochirus (4), Pseudhymenochirus (1)

Pipidae is known as the Tongueless frog family since they have no tongues. Other notable traits of the family are fully webbed back legs, flatted body, and having a lateral line system. The genus Pipa is found in South America while the other genera are found in sub Saharan Africa.


2 thoughts on “Pipidae -Tongueless Frog Family

  1. Pingback: Surinam Toad (Pipa pipa) | Gone Froggin

  2. Pingback: Different Lifestyles of Frogs and Toads | Gone Froggin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s